NCACES Call for General Awards

Deadline: 5:00 p.m. Central Time, Friday September 1, 2017

This is a call for nominations for the 2017-2018 NCACES General Awards, which will be presented at the business meeting at the ACES national conference, Chicago, Illinois at 5:30-6:30 p.m. on Friday October 6, 2017.
Please consider making a nomination and pass this call on to your colleagues.

Submissions of award applications will be through an online portal located here

This is a call for nominations for the 2016-2017 NCACES Awards, which will be presented at the NCACES 2016 Conference in October in Bloomington, Minnesota. Please consider making a nomination and pass this call on to your colleagues.

The General Membership of NCACES has approved the following list of nomination award categories:

(1) NCACES Outstanding Professional Service Award: To honor a professional who is an ally to the fields of counseling and counselor education for outstanding service to NCACES or to the cause of counselor education and supervision that is of regional and national importance to the profession. Awardees do not have to be ACES or NCACES members.

(2) NCACES Outstanding Professional Teaching Award: To honor excellence in teaching in a counseling, counselor education, or counseling supervision program in the North Central Region.

(3) NCACES Professional Leadership Award: To honor excellence in leadership of an officer, committee person, or other major contributor at the national, regional, or state level.

(4) NCACES Research Award: To honor significant research in the profession including the areas of counseling, counselor education, or counselor supervision.

(5) NCACES Outstanding Supervisor Award: To honor an individual in NCACES who has demonstrated outstanding work as a supervisor in a university, community/mental health counseling, or school setting.

(6) Deanna Hawes Outstanding Mentor Award: To honor an individual in NCACES who has been a significant mentor to graduate students, emerging professionals, educators, and/or supervisors in the manner demonstrated by Dr. Deanna Hawes over the course of her career in counselor education.

(7) NCACES Outstanding Diversity Award: To honor significant multicultural contributions to the profession of counseling, counselor education, or supervision.

(8) NCACES Innovative Counselor Education Program Award: To honor an outstanding, innovative, and/or unique counseling or counselor education program at an institution in the NCACES Region. (Note: Depending on the number and distribution of nominations, a Master’s programs and for a Doctoral program may be recognized.)

(9) NCACES Outstanding Graduate Student Award: To honor a graduate student in NCACES who has provided outstanding leadership or service to the profession at the state, regional, or national level that has promoted the profession.

Guidelines for Submitting a NCACES Award Nomination

Nominations for NCACES General Awards should follow the guidelines below:

1. The process is two stages. First, nominators should:
a. Create one combined PDF file that includes the nomination letter AND the additional support letters. A letter of nomination that clearly states the award for which you are nominating the person (or program) and reasons why the individual (or program) is deserving of the award. A MAXIMUM of two additional letters of support that clearly state the award for which the person (or program) is being nominated and reasons the individual (or program) is deserving of the award.
b. Ensure they have the nominee’s correct contact information AND ACES membership number (which is also their ACA number). This is in order for the awards committee to verify the nominee is an NCACES members. All nominees for individual awards except the NCACES Outstanding Professional Service Award, must be members of NCACES.

2. Complete the online form off of the NCACES website. The link is here:
a. The form requires the nominator to input their contact information AND the nominee’s contact information and their ACES membership number.
b. The form requires the nominator to:
i. Upload their combined PDF file that contains their nomination and additional support letters.
ii. Email your PDF file to Dr. Brandie Oliver, Member-at-Large and Awards Chair:

3. ALL NCACES General Awards nominations are due by Friday September 1, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. CENTRAL time. At that time the form will close.

4. BOTH nominees and nominators will be apprised of their status by Monday September 18. Those who are given awards should be available to receive them OR designate a representative to attend the NCACES Business Meeting at the ACES Annual Conference in Chicago on Friday October 6, 2017 from 5:30-6:30 p.m. Central time.

5. Questions should be directed to Dr. Brandie Oliver:

6. If no nominations are received within certain categories, those awards will not be awarded for that year.